Muscadines

image

On April 3rd, I transplanted two muscadine plants.  A white and a purple.  This is my first attempt at grapes and I’m excited to meet their acquaintance.  I’m sure they will teach me lots, like if their pods are really grapes, or if they’ll turn into flowers.

In sixteen days they went from having bare canes to leafy canes.  They must love their new soil, although their neighbors seem to not be so enthused about it.  Cucumbers, watermelon, sunflowers, lemon balm, and morning glories all have been seedlings for a long time….as well as the seedlings in all my other beds.  I amended them with phosphorus, but there’s been little to no change.

Just another garden mystery yet to be solved…

On another note, I garden by the moon.  It advised that April 3rd would be a good day to transplant.  It was right.

2 thoughts on “Muscadines

Leave a Reply

